

KHUDIRAM BOSE CENTRAL COLLEGE

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Subject: Webinar details held on 05-08-20 at 4 pm. Under the Programme of IQAC

Topic of Webinar	RECENT TAX REFORMS IN INDIA: IMPACT ON TAX PAYERS AND THEIR ATTITUDES					
Speaker	Dr. Chinta Haran Sengupta. Former Principal of Sree Chaitanya Mahavidyalaya, Habra, Guest Lecturer of Master of Business Management, University of Calcutta and eminent writer of Direct and Indirect Taxes and some other books.					
Patron	Dr. Subir Kumar Dutta.					
Convenor	Arabinda Mridha (HOD), Department of Commerce					
Joint Convenor	Dr. Chandrani Dutta and Tapan Kumar Dutta					
Moderator	Anuradha Banerjee, faculty, Department of Economics					
Technical Support	Jyoti Singh (HOD) department of Economics					
Other members of the committee	Arnab Basu and Chitta Ranjan Karmakar.					
	College faculty	Teachers from other college	College Students	Students of other college	Research Scholars	Total
Numbers of candidates registered	19	215	120	36	19	409
Numbers of candidates Participated	16	105	44	24	12	201

Questions asked in the Webinar

	1.	Why do all the developed countries believe in Progressive tax System? (Research Scholar.)
	2.	If I pay Income tax then why do I have to pay GST? Is this not double tax? By- Dr. Sriparna Dutta
	3.	If TDS is not being submitted in time by the Institution then who will be the responsible for that, DDO or the incumbent? By- Prof. Bishnu Sikder
	4.	Under new system there are seven slabs whereas under existing system there are four slabs. Does this make the tax planning more difficult?
•	5.	Sir, don't you think LIC and other Insurance Companies will face major losses in future, as new regime does not encourage deductions under chapter 6A?

Teachers of Khudiram Bose Central College who participated

Arabinda Mridha, Tapan Kumar Dutta, Dr.Chandrani Dutta, Jyoti Singh, Anuradha Banarjee, Arnab Basu, Chitta Ranjan Karmakar, Tapasi Ghosh, Dipannita Dutta, Maushumi Dutta, Koyel Chakraborty, Payel Bose, Arundhuti Chakraborty, Priyanka Sengupta, Dr. Sriparna Dutta, Sheuli Biswas Adikari, Deblina Bhattacharya, Jayeeta Mullick, Anamika Nandy, Dr. Subrata Kumar Mullik, Dalia Pramanik, Dr. Raja Ghosh.